#### PUTNAM COUNTY PISTOL AND SEMI-AUTOMATIC LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (Updated – 3-11-2025)

The Putnam County pistol and semi-automatic license Application packet consists of the following:

1. Two (2) New York State Applications: https://troopers.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/01/ppb-3-12-24.pdf

Applicants **must** be at least 21 years of age and reside in Putnam County for a minimum of six (6) months. (No age restriction applies to applicants who have been honorably discharged from the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force or Coast Guard, or the National Guard of the State of New York.). All applicants seeking a concealed carry pistol license must take a handgun safety course prior to submitting this application.

These forms **must** be prepared by typing or **clearly printing.** Read these instructions before completing to minimize errors. **ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED**. Falsification of this application is a felony, which could lead to your arrest. If the application is not completed according to the instructions, it **WILL BE RETURNED**. The applications **must** be notarized.

Four (4) character references are required. References **must not** be family members, **must** be citizens of the United States and **must** be at least 21 years of age. Each reference must personally know the applicant for a minimum of **five (5) years** and should possess all relevant knowledge about the history of the applicant to adequately respond to the questionnaire. Each reference (4) **must** sign the application in the appropriate space. Four (4) **stamped** envelopes addressed to your references **must** be submitted with this application (Please do <u>not</u> put a return address on the envelopes). If the reference letters are not returned to the Putnam County Clerk's Office at 40 Gleneida Ave., Room 100, Carmel, NY 10512 **WITHIN 60 DAYS** of receipt of the application, the entire application **WILL BE REJECTED**.

# ARREST INFORMATION

You must indicate all arrests (including DWI and DWAI) whether convicted or not, sealed, or adjourned contemplating dismissal. New York State law provides the authority for the Licensing Officer to inquire into the facts underlying the arrest of an applicant, even if the arrest was terminated in his/her favor. You must provide a court disposition for each arrest listed and submit the disposition(s) with this application. Failure to list an arrest will result in the disapproval of your application.

#### IDENTIFICATION / PROOF OF RESIDENCE

You **must** submit a copy of your driver's license and a copy of a utility or tax bill or other proof of mailing with your application. If you are an active or retired police or peace officer, you must submit a copy of your identification.

# **CITIZENSHIP**

You must submit a copy of your birth certificate or passport. If you were born in a foreign country and have become a United States citizen, you **must** provide a copy of your Certificate of Naturalization or passport with your application. If you are a resident alien, you **must** provide a copy of your Alien Registration Card with your application.

#### **PHOTOGRAPHS**

At least three (3) photographs must be submitted (photographs must be passport size (2x2) and actual photos (do not photocopy). They can be black and white or color. Photographs can be taken by the Putnam County Clerk at a cost of \$20 (cash or checks made payable to Putnam County Clerk).

# <u>NOTARY</u>

The Applications **must** be notarized. For your convenience, the Putnam County Clerk's office does have a notary on staff at no additional cost.

When your application is complete and you have all the necessary paperwork, you <u>MUST BRING THE</u> <u>APPLICATION IN PERSON TO THE PUTNAM COUNTY CLERK AT 40 GLENEIDA AVENUE ROOM 100,</u> <u>CARMEL, NY 10512.</u> When you submit the completed application to the Clerk's Office, be prepared to pay the separate \$10 fee for the issuance of the permit.

The Putnam County Sheriff's Office will contact you to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting at a later date. The fee for fingerprinting is **\$88.25** (*postal money order only*) made payable to **PUTNAM COUNTY COMMISSIONER OF FINANCE.** (No other type of payment will be accepted.) Postal money order **must** be submitted with your application.

### QUESTIONS

If you have questions or need assistance completing your application, call (845) 808-4321.

#### HANDGUN SAFETY COURSE

All applicants seeking a <u>concealed carry pistol license</u> must submit proof of completion of an in person and live fire safety course in accordance with New York State Law. Please consult the telephone directory or internet to obtain information about certified NRA instructors who offer the aforementioned training.

# CHECK LIST

- 1) **Postal money order** for \$88.25 payable to Putnam County Commissioner of Finance.
- 2) Separate \$10 fee for the issuance of the permit (cash or check accepted for this fee).
- 3) Three (3) **Passport photos**
- 4) Four (4) stamped envelopes addressed to your character references (no return addresses).
- 5) Copy of proof of a handgun safety course if applying for concealed carry pistol license.
- 6) Copy of your driver's license and utility bill or tax bill or other proof of mailing.
- 7) Copy of ID card if you are active or retired police or peace officer.
- 8) Court disposition(s) (if applicable).
- 9) Copy of Birth Certificate, Certificate of Naturalization, or passport.
- 10) Copy of Alien Registration Card (if applicable).
- 11) Copy of **handgun receipt(s)** (if applicable), C-Forms, or other official documents (listing your weapons) from your department.
- 12) Two (2) State of New York pistol/revolver semi-automatic rifle license applications:
  - Both applications must have character references original signatures.
    - Do <u>**not**</u> cross out, white out or spill anything on these applications.
  - Do <u>not</u> write in the sections above your name.

# DO <u>NOT</u> BRING YOUR APPLICATION TO THE CLERK'S OFFICE UNTIL IT IS <u>COMPLETE</u>.